Skip navigation

WP-Quotes Random Quote Generator WordPress Plugin Now a Widget

Somehow, with all the trauma in the drama of my life lately, I missed the fact that one of my favorite WordPress Plugins, WP-Quotes, has been turned into a WordPress Widget.

The WP-Quotes WordPress Plugin displays quotes, links, or any other information you want on your WordPress blog. I use mind for displaying random quotes, but there are a lot of things you can use this for.

What makes WP-Quotes different from other random text WordPress Plugins and scripts is the fact that it interacts with the WordPress database. Interaction with the stored content is through the WordPress Administration Panels, allowing you to input, edit, and sort your random text or content. Other random text generators work from a text file uploaded to your site.

I love featuring random quotes related to my article content on my main site, , and I use it in the sidebar. I have some other interesting ideas for its use on my family history blog that I’ll share with you soon.

I’ve been using other WordPress Plugins to make my random quotes work, so I wanted to use the same quotes but with this new Plugin. To get my huge list of quotes into the WP-Quotes table in the database, I came up with a method for importing my quotes into the database.

I’d love to see this Plugin turned Widget added to the Widget arsenal on blogs.

Thank you to Abhijit Nadgouda of ifacethoughts for bringing this to my attention.

Related Articles


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

4 Comments

  1. Posted November 25, 2006 at 5:44 pm | Permalink

    Great heads up, I have a couple of hundred quotes in a text file and was thinking I needed something a little more substantial than a text file. This is why I keep reading your blog, you keep me informed and up-to-date, way to go, Lorelle!

    Thanks again…

  2. Posted November 25, 2006 at 10:10 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle, thanks for bringing this to attention.

  3. Posted March 26, 2008 at 7:55 pm | Permalink

    So, did this ever become a wordpress.com feature?

  4. Posted March 26, 2008 at 10:10 pm | Permalink

    @ lori g.:

    No. I don’t believe it was ever considered. If you would like to use it on your WordPress.com blog, you can always ask. If enough people ask, they will usually add the feature.


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] WP-Quotes Random Quote Generator WordPress Plugin Now a Widget […]

  2. […] WP-Quotes Random Quote Generator WordPress Plugin Now a Widget […]

  3. […] WP-Quotes Random Quote Generator WordPress Plugin Now a Widget […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,972 other followers

