Skip navigation

Awesome Lists of Firefox Must-Have Extensions Lists

It took me a long time to get past my fear of leaving Microsoft Internet Explorer. I wasn’t convinced that there could possibly be a better browser, especially one that was free. “Free” to me meant cheap, something wrong with it, cripple-ware, and a trick to get you to buy it. In my wildest dreams I couldn’t imagine the joy I now have browsing the Internet. Before Firefox, Internet browsing was painful and cumbersome, like dragging a dinosaur around by a chain in a poorly laid out shopping mall. With Mozilla Firefox, I have fun with the Internet. Browsing is not only mostly pain-free, it’s addictive.

Along the way I found a few things make it even more addictive with the help of the real power of Firefox: Firefox Extensions.

Firefox Extensions, now known as add-ons, are the utilities, tools and services that make the process of browsing not only fun, but powerful, putting Internet Explorer in the back of the browser pack with a mouthful of dust, in my humble opinion.

Into web page design and development, then you should check out some powerful web design and development extensions that make editing your Theme or web page layout a dream. Want to keep track of the weather, a habit of mine now that I live temporarily in Hurricane Alley, then Forecastfox, the weather report extension, becomes a life saver, literally. Performancing Firefox Extension works similar to Ecto and allows you to easily post to your WordPress and other blogs with only a few clicks from within your browser while viewing other web pages. There are a ton of useful Firefox extensions that help you become a powerful blogger as well as Internet user.

There are so many different types of Firefox Extensions for so many different purposes, and sometimes more than one serves a similar purpose, that I get overwhelmed trying to find out which ones work for what and what other people like about the Firefox Extensions they use.

So I thought I would create a different kind of list of Firefox Extensions. I wanted to find out what other people use, and what they recommend and why, and list their articles. After all, don’t you learn more from those who actually use the things, right?

Everyone has their own opinion of what is a good or not so good extension and tool for Firefox, and I went looking for those who had something to say about their usage. I wanted to know why and how these work for the users. So this list isn’t about lists. It’s about explanations, reasons behind the choices, and why these people recommend these Firefox extensions, as well as how they think these Firefox extensions can help me blog and surf better.

Take a look and see what these Firefox power users have to say and decide for yourself which ones are the most useful for you. Sound good?

With the recent release of Firefox 2.0, which is screaming fast and now includes spell check and other great new features built-in, people are updating and releasing new lists of their favorite Firefox Extensions and Add-ons. Bill’s Big List of Firefox 2.0 Compatible Extensions will also help you find Firefox Extensions which work with Firefox 2.0, but if there are some older ones that you can’t live without, check their author websites to make sure they won’t break under Firefox 2.0, and then “force” them to work with Nightly Tester Tools Firefox Extension until the author updates the extension.

If you were inspired by a great list of Firefox extensions, or wrote one yourself, please add it to the list in the comments so we can all learn about what others have to say about their favorite Firefox extensions.

I hope that this list of lists will help people learn more about the powerful features and benefits of Firefox extensions.

List of Firefox Extension Lists

Here are a few more resources you need to know to help your Firefox Addiction:

Now, it is your turn to add your favorite list of Firefox extensions to this list!

Related Articles


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

9 Comments

  1. Posted November 11, 2006 at 2:22 am | Permalink

    Google Browser Sync, Session Manager and Mouse Gestures. I never leave home without it literally especially Google Browser Sync because no matter where I go, my portable Firefox will always be synchronized with each other even down to which tabs were last opened.

  2. Posted November 11, 2006 at 3:13 am | Permalink

    Google Browser Sync – ideal for all the rebuilds I do, Gmail Manager so that I can see when email arrives, Adblock, the Filterset.G updater for Adblock, the Something Awful Last Read extension (only useful if you are a member of the SA forums).

    I used to have loads of extensions installed, but I found that the browser took far too long to start up and that I never used most of them. So I have now pared the list down to a mere handful.

  3. Posted November 11, 2006 at 4:30 am | Permalink

    What I’m looking for: Firefox 2 dictionary sync.

    Most recent find: boss key for quickly clearing browser (not that I uh, surf at work)

    http://engtech.wordpress.com/2006/11/10/firefox-20-boss-key-extension-productivity-and-networking-information-component/

    wordpress.com extension to expand the category selection box

    http://engtech.wordpress.com/tools/wordpress/wpcatr

    Couldn’t live without:
    StumbleUpon, Greasemonkey, Google Toolbar, Image Zoom, Measure It, ScreenGrab, Yet Another Window Resizer

  4. Posted November 11, 2006 at 12:14 pm | Permalink

    My top 20 firefox extensions.

  5. Posted November 11, 2006 at 12:41 pm | Permalink

    Great list Lorelle! I already use or tried a lot of FF extensions, but these resources offer much new stuff. Thanks.

  6. Posted November 11, 2006 at 3:39 pm | Permalink

    amazing list and amazing work you’ve done on your blog.
    this is the first place i look for when searching for wordpress information.

    your blog is the ‘wordpress bible’.
    thanks a lot.

  7. Posted November 12, 2006 at 1:54 am | Permalink

    If you like ForecastFox, you’ll love ForecastFox Enhanced. To further add to your extension information overload, here’s my list

  8. Chris
    Posted November 15, 2006 at 3:54 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for linking to me in this post Lorelle. It’s very nice to be mentioned, and keep up the great work here.

  9. Posted February 1, 2007 at 5:56 pm | Permalink

    Thanks for posting a link to my extension lists (SilverSpider), I hope they prove useful to some folks. In fact, it reminds me that I should post an updated list as soon as I’ve knocked out my WP upgrade and reskin.

    Great site by the way! I seem to come back more and more often as I work on my various WordPress installs.

    Alex


13 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Tab Mix Plus / Deutsche Erweiterungen / Lists of Firefox Extensions […]

  2. […] Lists of Firefox Must-Have Extensions List […]

  3. […] foi isso que a lorelle andou a fazer. encontrou as listas todas, e lah tratou de por tudo no mesmo sitio. como sempre. […]

  4. […] Lorelle on WordPress has a fantastic article giving Awesome Lists of Firefox Must-Have Extensions Lists which is a list of lists. […]

  5. […] Firefox Extension List of Lists Lorelle on WordPress has put together a meta-list. Instead of just listing her favorite Firefox extensions, she’s created a huge list of such lists. If you’re a Firefoxian like me, this could kill a bunch of your time.  I decided to point this out explicitly rather than just tag it for my linkblog (there’s new interesting stuff there pretty much daily… you are reading it, right?) tagged as: firefox […]

  6. […] For example, Lorelle just shared her list of Firefox extensions, and Neil from Pronet Advertising shared his 50 favourite blogging resources. […]

  7. […] Firefox的插件和扩展: Scribefire Google Adsense Plugin SEO for Firefox Lorelle on WordPress’s Firefox must-haves […]

  8. […] Tab Mix Plus / Deutsche Erweiterungen / Lists of Firefox Extensions […]

  9. […] Firefox的插件和扩展: Scribefire Google Adsense Plugin SEO for Firefox Lorelle on WordPress’s Firefox must-haves […]

  10. […] Extensions and Add-ons: There are thousands of FireFox extensions and add-ons to choose from. I’ve listed some of the ones I can’t live without in my blogging business, one of […]

  11. […] Awesome Lists of Firefox Must-Have Extentions Lists […]

  12. […] Awesome Lists of Firefox Must-Have Extensions Lists […]

  13. […] Awesome Lists of Firefox Must-Have Extensions Lists […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 21,185 other followers

