Skip navigation

An Alternative Version of the Popular Technorati Tagging Bookmarklet Available

My Technorati Tag Bookmarklet for WordPress and WordPress.com Users is a popular and easy to use method of adding tags to your WordPress and WordPress.com blogs without WordPress Plugins or much fuss. Okay, a little fuss.

It works through the use of a Bookmarklet, a bit of javascript code you can install in your browser’s toolbar or bookmarks. Click it, type in your tag words, click okay, then copy and paste the results in your post where you want your tags to appear.

The javascript is customizable to include titles and graphics, and is what I use to generate my tags and signature at the bottom of every post on my blog.

Rakesh of Bavra Mann has come up with variation of the original tagging bookmarklet that allows entry of the tags with commas to separate them, and then displays the resulting links without a plus mark between the link text tag words. I’ve been poking at this for months, but I really haven’t had the time. Thanks to Bavra Mann, I don’t have to. Thanks!

I’ve included a step-by-step guide on how to insert your HTML code between the javascript and updated the information on various off-site tag link sites you might want to use instead of site search tags. I continue to recommend you make your tags offer results on-site, as that helps aid site navigation and helps readers find more information you’ve written on the topic.

Unfamiliar with how tags work, see Tags and Tagging in WordPress.

Thanks again, Rakesh!

Related Articles


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

8 Comments

  1. Posted August 11, 2006 at 8:20 am | Permalink

    Hey Lorelle,
    I did just a minor fix in your code. Probably I am not worth of that much praise.

    btw, thanks a lot :)

  2. CVK
    Posted August 11, 2006 at 8:38 am | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,

    Are you using a plugin for your “related articles” at the bottom of this post? If so, would you mind pointing me in the right direction for more info? I’ve tried searching your site and also pored over the site map, but couldn’t find any info on it. Thanks so much! And thanks for creating this blog. I discovered it recently and it’s a terrific resource.

  3. Posted August 11, 2006 at 8:49 am | Permalink

    I wish.

    Nope. Manually typed. Every time. EVERY time.

  4. CVK
    Posted August 11, 2006 at 10:52 am | Permalink

    Oh wow, impressive. :) I know there is a plugin for related posts, but it seems to require a lot of edits to the database and stuff like that, which I don’t really want to get into.

  5. Posted August 11, 2006 at 11:08 am | Permalink

    Where have you been looking? Related Posts by Wasabi is the BEST related posts WordPress Plugin. Almost no effort required. Works only on full version WordPress blogs, though. WordPress.com doesn’t allow Plugins.

  6. Posted August 18, 2006 at 8:27 am | Permalink

    Is their a way to make it work for blogspot?

  7. Posted August 18, 2006 at 9:43 am | Permalink

    I don’t know how blogspot works, but the tagging bookmarklet has nothing to do with blogging services. Customize it how you want and it sits in your browser’s bookmark toolbar waiting for you to click and enter the information. Then you copy and paste. I assume you can copy and paste with blogspot?

    The only problem would be what HTML tags are permitted with blogspot. If HTML tags are stripped, but links allowed, you work within those limitations. Read through A Technorati Tag Bookmarklet for WordPress and WordPress.com Users and give it a try. And let me know if it works for you on blogspot.

  8. Posted August 19, 2006 at 6:10 am | Permalink

    The bookmarklet works perfectly fine in blogspot blogs. Check my post here : http://sandy007smarty.blogspot.com/2006/08/technorati-tags-bookmarklet-adapted-for.html


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] Here are the tagging results produced by Lorelles Technorati tags bookmarklet, moified by Bavra Mann. [...]

  2. [...] My post on Web2.0 got Desipundited and the other post about Technorati Tagbookmarklet too has done quiet a good job by earning me several inlinks especially the one from Lorelle. [...]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 21,167 other followers

