Skip navigation

WordPress.com Blog Remodel: Stay Tuned for Graphic Changes Here

I’m sorry, but I’m moving the furniture around and you are just going to have to learn to live with the noise of the construction and remodel for a while. ;-)

The look of this blog will be changing soon. And probably a lot over the next month or so as no web design is ever done, it’s merely tweaked and tortured endlessly. There are no laws against torture in web design. Trust me. I’m still torturing web designs over 10 years old!

I’m taking advantage of the new CSS Editor access for WordPress.com blogs, and working overtime to keep updating the Sandbox Theme CSS stylesheet list as I go.

To answer your questions, yes. I will be discussing how this all works, how to make it work for you, how to make it do what you want, and how to screw up your WordPress.com blog in five steps or less.

As a warning for those considering this new paid option, this is not for the timid. The new Sandbox Theme is very simple and incredibly complex. It is designed for exquisite design detailing, right down to the smallest element, which is beyond most people’s capabilities and desires. Most of you want to just change the header art. Skip this technique and choose a WordPress Theme with a header art option. Currently, there is little support in the WordPress.com Support Forums for CSS customization. Go forth warned.

The new CSS Editor allows you to do two things:

1.

Tweak the WordPress Theme you are currently using on WordPress.com. For example, currently, the Rubric Theme I’m using has no style for blockquotes. I’ve added my own graphics to make it look interesting, and using the CSS Editor, I could add those permanently to the Theme’s stylesheet. Maybe even add a colored background to my blockquotes. Being forced to use the deprecated ALIGN attribute to float an image to wrap text around it to the right or left, I can add p img { padding: 0; max-width: 100%; padding:3px; } to put some space around the graphics so they aren’t crowded by the text. I can also add a img {border:0} to get rid of those annoying red borders around all images which are linked like thumbnails. Something simple. It will not allow you to override the structure or core styles of the Theme, just tweak a few things.

2.

Using the Sandbox Theme, you can strip your WordPress.com blog completely naked and start from scratch. You MUST have experience in web design, CSS, XHTML/HTML, including advanced CSS structures and techniques. I’ve uncovered over 400 possible style references, and this does not count all the combinations and CSS hierarchies that can be used in combination. Just the basics. The CSS structure DOES NOT resemble most current WordPress Themes available today, which are based on the Default/Kubrick WordPress Theme. You can’t take any WordPress Theme and apply it. In many ways, you will be starting from scratch. Literally.

So stay tuned for the fun and games as I maul my blog. And thank you for your patience while we are under construction. Pardon our dust.


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network

Member of the 9Rules Blogging Network

12 Comments

  1. Posted August 7, 2006 at 5:49 pm | Permalink

    Good luck!

  2. Posted August 7, 2006 at 11:03 pm | Permalink

    Looking forward to the redesigned.

  3. Posted August 8, 2006 at 3:13 am | Permalink

    Good luck Lorelle, i’m looking for the redesigned.

  4. Posted August 8, 2006 at 5:24 am | Permalink

    Looking forward to seeing what you come up with too!

  5. Yaser
    Posted August 8, 2006 at 7:54 am | Permalink

    Just a quick question, how do you have all those site tags at the end of your post. Since it’s definitely not just your categories, how did you do that on WordPress? Thanks.

  6. Yaser
    Posted August 8, 2006 at 7:55 am | Permalink

    Oh, have fun making your own theme also!

  7. Posted August 8, 2006 at 8:39 am | Permalink

    Yaser: Manually. I used to hand code them but now I use this: A Technorati Tag Bookmarklet for WordPress and WordPress.com Users.

  8. Posted August 8, 2006 at 11:57 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle this is beautiful! :-D

  9. Posted August 9, 2006 at 2:11 am | Permalink

    Yup. I like the new design too, especially the consistent color scheme. I hope it is here to stay.

  10. Reaper-X
    Posted August 9, 2006 at 6:51 am | Permalink

    Wow .. your theme looks great Lorelle ;) … unfortunately i cant use customized theme like yours :(

  11. Posted August 9, 2006 at 7:39 am | Permalink

    Thanks all. I’m still tweaking. Expect more furniture movement, but the paint job is pretty much done. ;-)

  12. Posted August 10, 2006 at 2:31 am | Permalink

    Nice work Lorelle! I didn’t see the customary Rubrick and thought I came to the wrong address ;). Been working on some serious tweaking, I see. Even the 9rules image has got its own little upgrade!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. [...] compete with the content. It began as only the signature, but eventually I added the pen. When I changed the blog to the current look, I changed the color of the pen to match the rest of the color scheme. So a [...]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,280 other followers

