Skip navigation

Hate Google: 25 Things to Hate

Danny Sullivan’s rant on “25 Things I Hate About Google” is worth a look. While Google is fast becoming a verb, there are somethings it gets right, but a lot it gets wrong.

Remember, just because there’s much I hate doesn’t mean there’s not a lot I love. In fact, anyone in a relationship knows that often the people you can hate the most are the same people that you love the most. You know them intimately; you want perfection. So on the love side, see my 25 Things I Love About Google post.

1. Web search counts that make no sense…

2. Despite results clustering, Google keeps serving up sites you’ve seen. You may not know the name results clustering, but you recognize Google doing it…

4. Bring on related searches…

7. RSS feed for web search…

12. Be more responsive to click fraud complaints: I’ve heard from too many advertisers who have felt over the years like they’re making something up when they come forth with click fraud concerns. You’re promising to do better. Please deliver…

16. Stop giving away Blogger for free. It’s just full of junk. Junk, junk, junk. If you let anyone have it with no barriers, surprise, some are going to take it and do bad things with it…

17. Act fast on copyright infringement at Blogger. The worst thing about Google Blog Search is that it makes it even easier for me to see who is stealing my content. And many of them are doing it via Blogger…

There are definitely some things I agree with on his list of things to hate about Google. And a few things worth loving, too. A mixed love-hate relationship, as it is with all things monopolistic. ;-)


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network

Member of 9Rules Blogging Network

4 Comments

  1. Posted June 13, 2006 at 12:14 am | Permalink

    How about a list of 25 things I hate about blogger? LOL

  2. Posted June 13, 2006 at 1:41 am | Permalink

    ooooh, I like it!

    To be fair, while I adore and promote WordPress products, I could easily come up with 25 things I hate, and love, about WordPress. Hmmm, you got me thinking!

  3. Posted August 13, 2006 at 10:53 pm | Permalink

    I hate Google because of its dishonesty. Google has
    claimed that its search results are objective, but Google
    often manipulates the its results by de-listing sites that
    it disagrees with.They de-listed my site,
    http://www.ncjusticefraud.com, when searching
    “Attorney General Roy Cooper.” At the same time MSN
    ranked my site around #8. Google also refused to run
    ads for the site, and for my other site,
    http://www.chinaisevil.com. I assume they didn’t want to
    offend their Chinese masters.

    Chris Langdon, qiology@aol.com

  4. Posted April 30, 2008 at 1:49 pm | Permalink

    i mean sure google gets you information but i was on for a whole HOUR and never found any thing for my reasearch report. at least i can find somethings OCASINALLY.


Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 21,184 other followers

