Skip navigation

eBay to Offer Free Blogs

According to Micro Persuasion, eBay is to launch blogs, wikis, and new search tags, presumedly to help sellers sell their goods and market their wares, though right now it appears that anyone can sign up for a free eBay blog.

Auction giant eBay is preparing to integrate blog and wiki publishing tools into its selling platform, according to a report on Auctionbytes. eBay Blogs will enable sellers to more efficiently market their products. eBay Wikis meanwhile collect fact-based articles written and maintained by eBay Community members. Both tools will be launched at the eBay Live conference in Las Vegas June 13 – 15.

Curious about the blogging part, I checked it out and it seems that the eBay blogs will be run by Typepad, a kudo for them.

It appears that news about eBay blogs has spread, and the eBay sites with more information on this are up and down as they can’t handle the load. Hope they clean up their server issues before they open up the blogs. ;-)


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen, member of the 9Rules Network

Member of 9Rules Blogging Network

4 Comments

  1. Sue Crocker
    Posted June 8, 2006 at 2:44 am | Permalink

    Hmmm… I don’t use TypePad, I use ExpressionEngine. But the idea of more people blogging can only be good. As a buyer of goods on eBay, I don’t know that reading the seller’s blog will make a difference.

    But it might.

  2. Posted June 8, 2006 at 11:07 am | Permalink

    The original article came out a week ago and this is the first I’m hearing about it (although I only deal with that hive once or twice a year) so…

    http://auctionbytes.com/cab/abn/y06/m06/i02/s03

  3. Posted June 8, 2006 at 7:48 pm | Permalink

    Unfortunately for those of us considering using the blog feature eBay offers, you must comply with a set of restrictions which include keeping all commercial aspects strictly eBay-centric (no mention of your own site or any other if it happens to sell anything), avoiding anything that could be construed as a rant against eBay or anyone on eBay (buyers or sellers), and of course the usual non-offensive, non-illegal clause.

    I have chosen to take the wordpress high road. Who knows? I might actually want to express myself freely and perhaps make a buck or two aside from my auction sales!
    :)

  4. Posted January 17, 2007 at 8:22 pm | Permalink

    I truely believe that any additional tools on ebay will be a plus for all the fulltimers. However, I think I tend to agree with TM in that, while I am not out to flame the world every time something doesn’t go my way, I do kind of worry about the potential ebay sword hanging over our heads. I think the potential could go either way.


Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 21,186 other followers

