Skip navigation

While You Were Out…Things Happened

Since leaving my humble abode deep in Hurricane Alley Grand-freakin’ Central in March to hit the road for one of my typical “drive-three-or-four-thousand-miles-for-some-reason-that-was-important-at-the-time” trips, things have been happening. Some good, some bad, some horrid, some delightful.

Official SOB - Successful and Outstanding Blogger - badgeOn the high side of things, I was designated an SOB – “Successful and Outstanding Bloggers” by Liz Strauss of Successful Bloggers. Wow! I’m an SOB. How appropriate! ;-)

Week 26 of SOB Successful and Outstanding Bloggers listI had to do some investigating to find out if this was a good or bad thing, and it turns out that I’m in really good company and it’s a good thing. The week I was called an SOB, my fellow SOBers were:

According to Liz Strauss, the theory behind the badges and the SOB titles of recognition are to highlight successful and outstanding bloggers, but also to encourage the blogging relationships between all of us:

…bloggers who understand that the strength of the blogosphere comes from relationships, interconnectedness, and community. Not all of these folks have all of the links you might expect, but they will, because they show the key traits of a succesful blogger.

I like that. Well said, and cheers, Liz, for such a brilliant concept. I declare you the leading SOB among us! ;-)

On one of the down sides, my main site, , was down for almost four days because of something causing the host server’s abuse flags to go up from action on my database. So without warning or notification, they shut down my website and caused no end of headaches trying to get a response and clarification. Trust me, their days are numbered. This isn’t the first time something has tugged or hit the database and they’ve hit the off switches. I will have to take off the fancy clothes and put on my armor and grease stained mechanics outfit and go digging into code – but it will have to wait another few weeks until I get back to the safety of my humble abode and familiar and consistent Internet connections….and before Hurricane season begins again, which is any moment.

So apologizes to fans of . I’ll get it figured out and possibly change hosts if I can’t, and things will be smooth serving again. I hope.

As for the rest of the crap and sunshine, welcome to life on the road.

I did find this lovely treasure by William Clark of Lewis and Clark fame, from his ancient “blog” written Thursday, November 8, 1805:

“We landed unloaded and drew up our Canoes. Some rain all day at intervals, we are all wet and disagreeable, as we have been for Several days past, and our present Situation a verry disagreeable one in as much, as we have not leavel land Sufficient for an encampment and for our baggage to lie cleare of the tide, the High hills jutting in so close and steep that we cannot retreat back, and the water of the river too Salty to be used, added to this the waves are increasing to Such a hight that we cannot move from this place, in this Situation we are compelled to form our camp between the hite of the ebb and flood tides, and rase our baggage on logs.”

Traveling is, and was, hell. Knowing that they had horrid traveling experiences makes me feel a little better.

Update: Later that same day…. Between four blogs, I found over 3000 comment spams requiring deletion. Over 600 on this blog alone. If any of your comments did not appear, for whatever reason, they might have been sucked up by the Akismet spam catcher. My apologizes, but if you think I was going to pour over 600 plus comments to look for three that might have been caught….not a chance. Luckily, only two got through on this blog. Eight on another. So the return on the investment for good spam catching tools is worth it. Make sure you get some, especially if you hit the road for too long.

As for email, the number is too great to count, so apologizes to all as it will take me a few days to get through it all. Ugh.


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen

10 Comments

  1. Posted May 5, 2006 at 10:07 pm | Permalink

    Congratulations you SOB! How can someone so nice be a SOB? Oh, yea that means Successful and Outstanding Blogger. :0 You deserve the recognition.

  2. Posted May 6, 2006 at 3:48 am | Permalink

    Wow! Lorelle, Thank you for noticing. It’s my way of letting folks who add good things to the conversation in the “Magic Middle” get their due in a little link love. Now we’re doing a who Link Leak Project you should stop by and check it out. :)

    You’re the best for sharing this. You do so much and this link is so small.

    Liz
    Successful Blog

  3. Posted May 6, 2006 at 10:17 am | Permalink

    congrats Lorelle. I’m glad you are getting the recognition you deserve for your blogging talents

  4. Posted May 7, 2006 at 3:13 am | Permalink

    There perils of popularity eh Lorelle? 3000 comment spam! It boggles the mind. Then I looked at the “recently updated” list and saw close to 50% of them were spam blogs. I shouldn’t be surprised about anything.

  5. Posted May 7, 2006 at 8:59 am | Permalink

    Mr. Angry,

    Comment spam has little or nothing to do with popularity. The number has to do with tracking links from one blog to another via spambots, computer generated programs, and random combinations of words and letters to track your sites down. And the fact that I hadn’t been able to check the site for more than a minute or two at a very limited time for a couple weeks. They pile up and add up.

    If comment spam were an indicator of popularity, there are some days when I feel like I’m the most popular blogger out there! ;-)

    Comment spam doesn’t get through the awesome protection developed by WordPress developers and fans, so I wonder when they will get a clue? Of course, not everyone is using these awesome tools, yet, so the comment spammers win because others are using stuff that allows them in. We all need to work to stop comment spam from appearing on our sites and then maybe they will learn that comment spam won’t work and stop. Here’s hoping.

  6. Posted May 7, 2006 at 10:11 am | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,

    I love your blog and am not surprised that you have won an award. You were a huge factor in my deciding to use WordPress. I am currently moving from Blogger to WordPress and I love it.
    As for the SOB award, I doubt that they took readability into account when choosing recipients. I checked out the other winners and at least 3 of them are almost unreadable (one is totally unreadable because it is “under construction”). The type size is way too small, white on black and/or too gray. I realize that gray is more readable than pure black on a monitor but there is a point where it becomes painful to try to read.
    I did look at all of the sites in 3 browsers (Firefox, Opera and IE). The results were the same for all of them. While I am knowledgeable enough to use my browser to “fix” these problems if I really want to read a website I doubt that most people are. Essentially they are losing visitors (me included) because of poor design choices.
    Thanks for your great work.
    John

  7. Posted May 7, 2006 at 11:25 am | Permalink

    Congrats on the SOB award!

    I read your blog at length when I was trying to decide on a blog platform for my site. Keep up the great work :)

  8. Posted May 7, 2006 at 11:58 am | Permalink

    Thank you, and congrats to you, too. I’ve have thoroughly enjoyed your site as well. Let’s keep on keeping up the great work everywhere! YEAH TEAM!

  9. Posted May 8, 2006 at 10:22 am | Permalink

    Congrats Lorelle! You’re outstanding in my book. :)

    Email me when you get a chance. I might be able to help you with hosting Taking Your Camera on the Road.

  10. Posted May 8, 2006 at 8:05 pm | Permalink

    Here’s rain and sunshine, appropriate for you road move ;)
    Congratulations to the star in bloggers heaven! You deserve it!
    And I really like the William Clark quotation you gave us.
    It’s brilliant, lively, expressive and in one single fluent sentence.
    May the sun shine bright on you and your’s!


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] Recently, Lorelle was awarded the prestigious “Successful and Outstanding Bloggers” (SOB) award. Here are some tips about blogging from the lady herself: [...]

  2. [...] In May of this year, Liz Strauss of Successful Bloggers honored this site and me as an SOB – “Successful and Outstanding Blogger” – which was a huge surprise. [...]

  3. […] While You Were Out…Things Happened […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,107 other followers

