Skip navigation

What Are You Wearing While Blogging?

BoingBoing brought my attention to an interesting study called “Survey Shows Employees Rate Productivity High, Security and Clothing Low When Working From Home”. This survey studied a wide range of issues covering telecommunters, including what they wore.

All respondents were relaxed about their personal habits when working remotely. While about 39% of respondents of both sexes said they wear sweats while working from home, 12% of males and 7% of females wear nothing at all. In matters of cleanliness, the difference between the sexes was more pointed: 44% of women surveyed said they showered on work-at-home days, as opposed to men, who were slightly more likely to shave (33%) than wash (30%). 18% of men regularly break off to do household tasks such as laundry, dishwashing or dusting whereas many more women — over 38% — found their attention claimed by chores.

Respondents also said they took the opportunity to eat and drink outside standard times (about 35%); listen to music (45%) or watch TV (28%); and 21% of all respondents admitted to sneaking in an afternoon nap. A small percentage of those surveyed (9%) admitted to feelings of guilt about being away from the office. Taking a longer lunch than at the workplace was also relatively rare (12%).

While the survey was small, and not totally reflective of all work-from-home employees, it got me thinking about how I work at home and how other bloggers handle working from home, reliant upon their blogs for income.

So, what are your work habits as a blogger working from home?


Site Search Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Copyright Lorelle VanFossen

8 Comments

  1. Posted March 19, 2006 at 6:23 am | Permalink

    I used to be half naked and wasted ramblin’ on websites and my then various blogs. These days I dropped that habit… but I still sit in just my salfmade linnen pants, a t-shirt, put on some nice tunes, ranging from Neil Young and Lou Reed vinyl to triphoppy stuff at nights.

    Lately I took back my liking of Ani DiFranco as she’s really inspiring when writing and working on pieces/designs.

    I always shower and shave, I smoke too much, and drink way too much coffee. Love the post :D

  2. Tommy
    Posted March 19, 2006 at 7:36 pm | Permalink

    I usually just sit at home in medical scrubs (more comfy than pajamas) and have a dual monitor setup. The second monitor has all of the TV shows I’ve downloaded over bittorrent from previous days playing while I work. Blogging and eating happens throughout the day. I also do chores. RSS feeds are a god send in this aspect. Shower and brushing my teeth? Yes. Shave? Hardly ever if I don’t plan on going to work or going out to party.

  3. Posted March 20, 2006 at 5:38 am | Permalink

    Nice post Lorelle… :D I always blog from Home, so it’s casual dressing 4 me.

  4. Posted March 20, 2006 at 7:08 am | Permalink

    I wish I could work from home, but I do have to blog from home now that the corporate proxy has discovered WordPress.Com and since I write my best stuff in the early morning I usually just have my pajamas on. If I did get to work from home I would do my blog stuff in pajamas then get a shower and start the work day in jeans and a t-shirt.

  5. Posted March 23, 2006 at 1:21 pm | Permalink

    I better not tell :oops:

  6. Posted March 23, 2006 at 4:36 pm | Permalink

    You just want us to guess, don’t you? ;-)

  7. Posted March 26, 2006 at 5:34 am | Permalink

    Just regular jeans and a sweatshirt, but I seriously need to work out. Don’t think I could do NIFOC! Too cold!

  8. Posted January 9, 2007 at 5:36 pm | Permalink

    Today sweats. But waching a movie at the same time.


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blogging in the buff

    Lorelle on WordPress cites a study made by Internet security provider SonicWall on habits of the mobile/telecommuting workforce. Among the notable observations was on clothing prefernces while working at home. All respondents were relaxed about their p…

  2. [...] 1. alphonse.info = site 2. alphonse.f2o.org = lab 3. alphonse.blindfusion.com = host shutdown/closed 4. alphonse.forummax.com = host shutdown/closed 5. moblog.com.sg/blog/alphonse = moblog [...]

  3. […] What Are You Wearing While Blogging? […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,573 other followers

