Skip navigation

Firefox Bookmarks Help Bloggers Blog

I love it when a tool I already adore, proves itself to be even better and have more awesome features that I realized. I learn this about WordPress every day, but today I learned something great about Firefox, my Internet browser, that will make my blogging research and work even easier.

From a tip from Life Hacker, I learned that when you are saving a bookmark in Firefox, you have an option to include all the open tabs in the window. This groups all the tabs under one bookmark. When I was to see all of those tabbed web pages, I open that group bookmark and all of the pages load in my Firefox window.

If you don’t see the option on your Bookmark This Page popup window, then you can choose this option from the toolbar menu from Bookmarks > Bookmark All Tabs, or use the keyboard shortcut to open the Bookmark All Tabs option of CTRL+SHIFT+D.

How does this help my blogging?

First, I always have some core pages open all the time. I have two versions of this, my wordpress.com site, and my main site, Taking Your Camera on the Road open, totalling four tabs. One of these pairs is for the WordPress Administration Panels for each site and the other is for viewing the site.

Then I have one tab open for the WordPress Support Forum, and one for the WordPress Codex, giving me access to the information I need and the volunteer work I do with WordPress. This totals six tabs.

I then keep a tab open to read my feeds, and another for monitoring the new Digg hot technology directory. That makes eight tabs.

I save these as a group bookmark so I can open them as a group and ensure they are there whenever I need them. Quick access.

Now, as how it helps my writing research, I open a Firefox browser window and keep all of the pages I’m viewing and want to keep track of as I do research on a project in that window. I save all of the open tabs in that window as a bookmark, and they are there to call up at any time, especially if I’ll have to come back to the project later, keeping everything grouped together as a project.

There is another benefit of working with Bookmarked tabs. Each Firefox window open is the full version of Firefox running on your computer. Just like any other program you have open. Firefox can be resource hungry, and if you are short on RAM (memory) on your computer or laptop, having multiple windows of Firefox open can quickly consume your RAM and your machine will run slower. Instead of keeping all these tabs and windows open, especially since you might not need them now, you can save them under a grouped bookmark, and open them as you need them.

Give this Firefox group bookmarket tip a try and tell me how it works for you.

BONUS FIREFOX TIP

I thought I’d throw in one more bonus Firefox tip. Mozillazine offers Mouse Tips to maximize your use of the mouse in Firefox. For instance, click on the link with the middle or scroll wheel button, and that link will open in a new tab, or a special bonus for website and blog designers and developers, right-click on a selected (highlighted) area of a web page and choose “View Selection Source” to display the source code for the selected part of the page only. Wow!


Technorati Tags: , , , ,

3 Comments

  1. Posted January 29, 2007 at 11:28 pm | Permalink

    I’ve been checking out a new social networking site, Newsvine, but their chicklet does not work properly in WordPress because it requires the Bookmarks toolbar to appear in the pop up window and window.open JavaScript cannot control that toolbar.

  2. Posted January 30, 2007 at 2:13 pm | Permalink

    I have found FireFox to be an excellent tool. It has all types of plugins to help bloggers including one from performancing. I also use a plugin so I can see how my site looks in IE and Fire Fox. I find Fire Fox very Helpful as I maintain Both of my Blogs. Thanks for the post.

  3. Posted June 29, 2007 at 9:07 pm | Permalink

    I did not know that. I just started with wordpress and realize there is much to learn.
    I like all the helpful articles you have on your blog. Thanks:)


4 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] Firefox Bookmarks Help Bloggers Blog [...]

  2. […] Firefox Bookmarks Help Bloggers Blog […]

  3. […] Firefox Bookmarks Help Bloggers Blog […]

  4. […] you familiar with Firefox’s bookmark tab group function? Lorelle on WordPress explains why you should get […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 19,717 other followers

