Skip navigation

Instantly Translate Your Blog

Would you like to read this blog in Spanish? What about German, French, Portugese, or Italian? Or stretch even further and read this blog translated into Japanese, Chinese, or Korean?

Think of the possibilities. With a click, your blog is accessible by millions of non-English speakers. You’ve opened your words up to the world.

Would you like to know how to include these instant translation links for your blog? Well, that’s what I’m here for.

These instant translation links use Google’s Language Tools to translate your blog’s text into one of eight different languages. More languages may be added in the future, but for now, we’ll work with the eight languages we have.

To add instant translation links to your blog, you simply need a link that when clicked will take the user to the Google Translation page, displaying your blog translated in the language of the user’s choice. Here is a breakdown of the link.

http://translate.google.com/translate?u=website url&langpair=language abbreviation to translate from%7Clanguage abbreviation to translate to&hl=language abbreviation to translate to&ie=UTF-8&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&prev=%2Flanguage_tools

To translate my blog into Spanish, which means I’m converting the page from English (en) to Spanish (es), this is the link.

http://translate.google.com/translate?u= http://lorelle.wordpress.com &langpair=en%7Ces&hl=es &ie=UTF-8&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&prev=%2Flanguage_tools

To translate my main website from English to Italian (it), Taking Your Camera on the Road, the link would look like this:

http://translate.google.com/translate?u= http://www.cameraontheroad.com &langpair=en%7Cit&hl=it &ie=UTF-8&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&prev=%2Flanguage_tools

NOTE: Remove the spaces in the links before using. The spaces are for display formatting.

These translations aren’t perfect, but they are getting better all the time.

So add some language translation links to your sidebar or posts and help spread the word about your blog to the world.

Translate Blog in Spanish Translate Blog in German Translate in French Translate Blog in Portugese Translate Blog into Italian Translate Blog into Japanese Translate Blog into Chinese Translate Blog into Korean


Technorati Tags: , , , ,
Site Search Tags: , , , ,

55 Comments

  1. Posted October 22, 2005 at 7:57 pm | Permalink

    Great tip! Thanks! I never thought about using the Google Translate service is this manner.

  2. foo
    Posted January 21, 2006 at 7:45 am | Permalink

    This is awsome , Thank you !!

  3. Posted February 20, 2006 at 3:10 pm | Permalink

    This was VERY helpful. Thank you for taking the time to explain the process so clearly.

  4. Posted May 30, 2006 at 6:54 am | Permalink

    Google’s translation only goes halfway down the page, then reverts to English. It gives up completely if you try English to Spanish then on to German. I was hoping for the Babelfish Effect, that when you finally get it back to English it means something entirely different.

  5. Posted May 30, 2006 at 8:31 am | Permalink

    When translating huge amounts of information, then it only translates part way. This is a limitation of Google’s service. I remember being told something like “It’s just a helpful service, not a book translator. And it’s free.” So you get what you pay for, I guess. ;-)

    If you translate the front page of a blog featuring thousands of words, you will not get a complete translation. The links in the sidebar here are for the front page. It is not a plugin with a variable, but an absolute link.

    The trick is to click the translate buttons appropriate for your language of choice, and then click any of the links within the article, sidebar, or related articles and the linked article will be fully translated. Even if you scroll down to where the translation stops, click the title of the article and it will be translated. As long as the Google translation header frame is at the top, then the pages viewed within will be translated.

    As for jumping from language to language, remember you are dealing with a free limited service run by a machine not human. It’s meant to be an aid not a replacement for full service, paid translations. If you use the links to change translation from the sidebar, going one from one language to another after being translated, you will get an error as the link is not a language switcher but a simple instruction to just translate the front page of the site. Google already has the translator running, so when another request to activate the translator for another language comes, the page to be translated isn’t physically somewhere, as the link instructs, but temporarily generated by Google. A page not found error results and a conflict occurs. Go back to the original site, without the header frame, and then click the next language, and it will translate from there.

  6. funston
    Posted September 9, 2006 at 1:54 pm | Permalink

    I must be doing something wrong. I have removed the spaces but I don’t get the the same result.

    example:
    http://pupvideotraining.com/news/

    just comes out as text

  7. Posted September 9, 2006 at 2:21 pm | Permalink

    Follow the instructions exactly as above. I checked your site and saw nothing in the sidebar or anywhere except a heading that says “Translate” in the sidebar. You can’t just paste in the link and hope it turns into something nice like Lorelle on WordPress in Spanish. You have to put them in a link with text or a graphic. I put mine in as links with a graphic icon using the WordPress Links Manager on my blogroll.

    I recommend that you right click + copy link location to get the full link from my sidebar, and then put in your own URL from there if copy the last bit of code in the example doesn’t work for you. It’s hard publishing code that stretches beyond the monitor and web page design.

    If you want to add a similar feature without the hard work, then get the Translator WordPress Plugin. If you are using the full version of WordPress, it’s a sweet addition to your site.

  8. Posted September 10, 2006 at 9:25 am | Permalink

    Hello Lorelle,
    Thank you for this great tools. ;)
    But I’ve noticed one thing with Google translation (I use it to translate in spanish and japanese): my images do not display. Please do you know if there’s a solution for that?
    Cheers!

  9. Posted September 10, 2006 at 9:43 am | Permalink

    No clue. It’s a function of Google if they strip out images. It didn’t for me.

    The biggest problem with using this function is that it only translates the front page of your site, so clicking them on other older pages will take the reader to the front page of the site and translate that information, if you are using these with WordPress.com or sites which do not allow PHP or variables in their links. I’m working on a more flexible technique I’ll post soon.

  10. Posted September 21, 2006 at 3:57 pm | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,
    Finally I found a solution. Maybe it’s not the best one, but it works! :)
    What i’ve done: it’s to upload my images with other free hosting sites like Freeshare.us, Filefactory.com, etc.

    Then, when I translate my blog all the content keeps intact! ;)
    Cheers!

  11. Posted September 21, 2006 at 4:04 pm | Permalink

    Okay, so that tells me something was wrong with the links to your images, not the translation process. The only difference is that the images link to an offsite location and not your blog’s location. That’s just strange. There must be something wrong with those links to the images on your blog. Very odd.

    Thanks for letting me know.

  12. Posted September 21, 2006 at 10:27 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle:

    Thanks for all your wonderful tips. Couldn’t do half of what I do without you…Regarding the Translating tool, what do you think about the Angsuman’s Translator Plugin Pro for wordpress blogs? It produces permalinks for each language. Have you heard of it? Does it produce duplicate content that Google will penalize? Just curious which translating method to use, but I don’t want the searchh engines killing me…Thanks

  13. Posted September 22, 2006 at 7:51 am | Permalink

    Thanks for the kind words.

    As for translating your blog fully and well, all translation services available currently are so-so. Good enough to make a point, not consistently good across all translations and keyword recognition. I’m using Automatic Machine Translator WordPress Plugin from Taragana on a couple of my blogs and it works “okay” but since I don’t speak or read all of the languages available, I can only judge the ones I can.

    I expect translation abilities to become built into browsers within the next few years, if anyone is thinking like they should on this, rather than the responsibility of the website or blog administrator. Until then, it’s trial and error.

    I should do a hunt for some good reviews of translation services and functions. I’ll put it on the list. ;-)

  14. Posted February 2, 2007 at 3:54 pm | Permalink

    Great information! Where can i copy language bar or Flags ?

  15. Posted February 2, 2007 at 4:03 pm | Permalink

    Flags you will have to find elsewhere, but the link images here are free for the copying. Right click, Save Image (or Target) as.

    DO NOT HOTLINK TO THESE IMAGES

  16. Posted April 25, 2007 at 7:46 pm | Permalink

    This could be easier with this code…

    http://www.google.com/translate?hl=en&ie=UTF8&langpair=en%7Cde&u= [URL]

    For example, http://www.google.com/translate?hl=en&ie=UTF8&langpair=en%7Cde&u=www.pareen.wordpress.com

    Other coding remains the same but the link can be added at the end so as to avoid any confusion.

  17. Posted June 13, 2007 at 1:12 pm | Permalink

    is there a link if I want to translate my material from Spanish to English

  18. Posted June 13, 2007 at 2:12 pm | Permalink

    You can try Google Translate at http://translate.google.com.

  19. Posted June 19, 2007 at 7:52 am | Permalink

    Greetings, I’m looking for the google code to translate english to greek (with the greek flag)…help!

  20. Posted June 20, 2007 at 8:49 am | Permalink

    You can find a variety in Translation and Multilingual WordPress Plugins.

  21. Posted June 29, 2007 at 3:01 am | Permalink

    In view of the market development, it is becoming increasingly clear that getting your message across to millions of non-English speakers will be a very good marketing tool. So, thanks for the tip. I look forward to more articles.

  22. Posted November 24, 2007 at 1:16 am | Permalink

    Is there any translation from “Indonesian” to any other language *need ur info…thks

  23. Sandeep
    Posted November 28, 2007 at 6:58 am | Permalink

    Hi

    The tips provided are quite useful and interesting, the value additions in terms of feedback given my commentators also have good opinion

    I hope this will make us understand the realistic subject better.

    Sandeep

  24. Posted December 8, 2007 at 12:29 am | Permalink

    Thank you for this. It has been a great help. My feed count jumped by nearly a quarter after using this!

  25. davidleeys
    Posted April 17, 2008 at 10:48 am | Permalink

    You had a nice and GREAT blog… HOw can I had mine be so good like yours?

  26. davidleeys
    Posted April 17, 2008 at 10:54 am | Permalink

    Your translate tools not working… I had been searching for this tools to place on my blog too. Please advise.

  27. Posted April 17, 2008 at 2:57 pm | Permalink

    @ davidleeys:

    Actually, the translation links in the sidebar do work, but only for the front page of the blog. A limitation of the process. But I might consider adding a translation set of links to each post…that’s a possibility to consider in the future.

    WordPress.com blogs cannot use WordPress Plugins, but I describe some options in Translation and Multilingual WordPress Plugins for full version WordPress bloggers.

  28. Posted April 17, 2008 at 2:58 pm | Permalink

    @ davidleeys:

    Fourteen years of hard work and knocks?

    That’s a very big question for a comment response. If you read my blog you will find the answer everywhere on how to succeed blogging. Or buy my book and get it in a condensed lot. :D

    Thanks.

  29. Lior
    Posted April 21, 2008 at 2:51 am | Permalink

    Hi,
    Thanks Great tip, I have recently wanted to translate my blog with a real human translation and used OneHourTranslation.com got great results and it’s really cheap

  30. Posted April 22, 2008 at 12:19 pm | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle. I had problem with google. It seems google was unable to translate my website correctly, and my whole site is mirrored (left became right).

    I had it XHTML and CSS checked, but no clue. Can you help?

    Oh! I almost forgot! My website is http://datarecoveryproducts.com

    PS Just click on the flags on the upper right hand corner and see for yourself.

  31. Posted April 22, 2008 at 3:05 pm | Permalink

    @ Rufas:

    I just tried a couple of clicks and it works fine for me. You have design issues with the translations because you have design issues and problems with your site no matter what language it is in.

    Also, a sitemap is a hidden file on your server that helps search engines index your site. A site map is a table of contents listing of your site’s contents. I sure wish I was in charge of naming things so these stupid naming conventions wouldn’t be so silly. :D

  32. mela
    Posted May 13, 2008 at 5:06 pm | Permalink

    I have a question, i tried to make it work, both from english and spanish. For my blog, do I click on the page layout and add the ‘Configure HTML/JavaScript’ bar and copy the translate code for spanish and just paste it there?
    thanks for your help!!

  33. Posted May 13, 2008 at 10:11 pm | Permalink

    @ mela:

    Page Layout? I’m sorry, I can only help you with WordPress blogs. Contact your blog platform forum or guide for instructions on using Javascript on that system.

  34. Posted May 18, 2008 at 8:22 am | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,

    Just want to let you know I found the problem. You can see the solution here.

    http://wordpress.org/support/topic/172977?replies=4

    As for that sitemap, I had take it off and kick it aside, somewhere. It shouldn’t troubles anymore you unless you looking for it. :)

  35. Posted May 24, 2008 at 1:58 am | Permalink

    After looking through the various translation plugins, I decided to use a variation of this “poor man’s technique” for my site. Based on my stats, it looks that my visitors have been using them.

  36. Posted June 23, 2008 at 1:40 pm | Permalink

    I copied and pasted, changed the site url to my own, and deleted the spaces, but I still just got code. ouf. help?

  37. Posted July 9, 2008 at 10:43 am | Permalink

    Dear Lorelle,
    I am going to install the translator on my blog. But a question remains for which I ask your help. I am Brazilian, live in Chile and studied in English. Thus I read/write reasonably well in Portuguese, Spanish and English. From using Babelfish and Google Translator, I have observed that the quality of the translation is rather poor. Why is that? Am I doing something wrong? If not, can I edit the translated materials before they are published? Thanks for your help!!

  38. Posted July 9, 2008 at 2:13 pm | Permalink

    @ Ana Paola:

    You are going to install a WordPress Plugin for translation? The method described in this article is not a good one, so I do hope you are going to use a Plugin. There are some good ones.

    This article was written a long time ago, and applies only to WordPress.com which does not have the ability to add WordPress Plugins. It was a work-around and is not a good thing to do. Use a Plugin.

  39. Gérard
    Posted October 4, 2008 at 10:08 am | Permalink

    Hi everybody,

    Please you need to be serious, if you really want to become international, you can’t use a translator tool, I have read this blog in french (my mother tongue) and without any doubt it is really funny (only the flag is 100% correct), you can’t trust those tools only use them as a first step. Do you know what ? After reading the first 30 lines of this blog, I came back in english, more easier :-) For me it was a sort of insult to my mother tongue. You need to be pro guys, I am sure that all my errors in english in this text irritated more than one of you. Well it is exactly the same for me with those translator. A funny things to do is to take a text in your source language and give it to your favourit translator tool, than take this result text and use it as the new source to translate it again in your originate source language, you will see what I mean. 1) UK to FR than FR to UK you will see.
    The best is to use a plugin and ask a real translator
    Bonne chance à tous

  40. Quazuku
    Posted October 27, 2008 at 5:48 pm | Permalink

    Thank you so much for the tips.

  41. Posted January 15, 2009 at 2:56 pm | Permalink

    Lorelle with your permission may I try this and “leech” the translate images (pngs) until the weekend when I will host them myself?

    • Posted January 15, 2009 at 11:54 pm | Permalink

      There are translation images all over the web, but you are welcome to these. :D Thanks for asking.

  42. vnhan2009
    Posted February 6, 2009 at 6:27 am | Permalink

    Hi Lorelle,
    I try to mimic your code to translate my blog here: http://freshhome.wordpress.com but I have something wrong. Could you help me for the code to translate Vietnamese to English? I need your help asap. My blog is Vietnamese language.
    Thanks.

    • Posted February 7, 2009 at 1:14 am | Permalink

      Sorry, I do not recommend this method any more, especially for WordPress.com sites. It only translates the front page, not any specific page on your blog. As for translating from Vietnamese to English, you’ll have to talk to Google about that. Not sure if they even offer it.

      I’m hoping (and nagging) that WordPress.com offer translation services, and I’m told that they are considering it, if they can find a method that doesn’t abuse so much bandwidth and server action.

  43. Posted May 2, 2009 at 9:27 am | Permalink

    I use google translator with a widget I found. It translates into 30+ languages Whilst it stands out on my site (could be a good thing) as it is not fully customizable. I know visitors I receive from countries where english is not their first language can read my pages with a couple of clicks.

    thanks

    Andy

  44. Posted June 28, 2009 at 8:45 am | Permalink

    It works for every page on Blogger…but what I want to know is how accurate are the translations?

  45. Posted August 1, 2009 at 3:30 pm | Permalink

    I have cribbed from lorelle.wordpress.com translation links for the homepage of Purpleslog. The translation will only be so-so, but they are better then nothing. Let me know what you think of them. The links are in the lower right.

    • Posted August 4, 2009 at 10:15 pm | Permalink

      I’m not sure what you mean by “cribbed”, but translating content without the express permission BEFORE translation violates my copyright if the translated content goes beyond my definition of fair use. I looked on your site and didn’t see what you described.

  46. Posted September 23, 2009 at 6:08 am | Permalink

    I think it could be a good idea, but as you wrote translations are not so perfect, sometimes either good. But I will try.

  47. Posted December 22, 2010 at 1:57 pm | Permalink

    I really appreciate the message and explanation so far but one thing which am not really cleared with for now is , I want to translate my blog in a simple way , Have seeing it on a blog where by moment you enter the url of that blog you can easly see option on the page, if you want to translate
    Here is the link on how it looks http://lighthose-j.blogspot.com/ , Is there a way i can translate my blog like that.
    Thanks in advance

    • Posted December 22, 2010 at 2:49 pm | Permalink

      That’s a blogspot blog. I have no idea how they do that. You can use a Google Translate widget or if you are using WordPress, use a translation WordPress Plugin. I do not recommend doing this the way described in the article any more. On a one page at a time basis it’s okay, but not for an entire site. That needs to be automated.

  48. richie
    Posted December 31, 2010 at 12:44 am | Permalink

    Thank you Lorelle,
    with wordpress and blogspot i know how that can be possible but with blog.com i find it diffcuit to do thou have mailed the support team thou waiting for their response but just incase if there is any idea here on how i can make that possible on blog.com will definitely appreciate that.

    Cheers
    Richie
    COMPLIMENT OF THE SEASON

    • Posted December 31, 2010 at 10:46 am | Permalink

      I’m not familiar with that hosting service. They will have to help you.

  49. Posted April 20, 2011 at 3:46 am | Permalink

    I have a website. I want to translate mnggunakan google translate, have tried. but really hard. why? thanks for the information


16 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] Lorelle on WordPress » Instantly Translate Your Blog Instantly Translate Your Blog into many languages !!!! (tags: Blogpost) [...]

  2. [...] Sooner or later it had to happen The amazing “Taking Your Camera on the Road” Lorelle shows you how to instantly translate your blog from English to eight other languages, including Chinese. More languages to come, she states. She uses the Google’s language tools for the purpose. It’s a fine initiative, but must be taken with not a grain but a spoon of salt. [...]

  3. [...] Lorelle on WordPress » Instantly Translate Your Blog [...]

  4. [...] I have cribbed from lorelle.wordpress.com translation links for the homepage of Purpleslog. The translation will only be so-so, but they are better then nothing. Let me know what you think of them. The links are in the lower right. [...]

  5. Guidance and Sample Code for Multi-Lingual Translations of Your Blog or Web Site

    So it was a great surprise and pleasure to encounter Lorelle VanFossen’s blog site where she has cleverly linked in Google’s machine language translation capabilities. Her explanation of that approach is provided by this specific posting. So, using these techniques, my site has now embraced these language translation capabilities for the nine languages shown as follows…

  6. [...] Instantly Translate Your Blog [...]

  7. [...] Currently I only have ones for French, Italian and Spanish but I’ll be adding more when I get the chance.  If you are interested in doing this for your blog see a great explanation here. [...]

  8. How to Invest Time and Money in Your Blog

    Over the past couple of days, I’ve invested a substantial amount of time in my blog to turn it into a website. The majority of the investment was time, along with a couple dollars here and there to secure logos and headers. Here’s what I le…

  9. [...] Plugins or turn to Google’s Translate Language Tools or Altavista’s Babelfish. Machine translations aren’t perfect, but they typically do a fair job getting much of the concept [...]

  10. [...] updates. It’s a pretty good deal in my opinion. But if you want to save the $30, you can use Google’s translating power to your [...]

  11. [...] Dan werkt dit toch beter: Engels, Frans, Duits Deze tip vond ik hier. [...]

  12. [...] Instantly Translate Your Blog [...]

  13. [...] machine language translation capabilities. Her explanation of that approach is provided by this specific posting. So, using these techniques, my site has now embraced these language translation capabilities for [...]

  14. […] Instantly Translate Your Blog […]

  15. […] be the icon of the linked site. For example, I have a column of links which, when clicked, offer a translated version of the front page of my blog in different languages. I simply used one of the online buttons and badge makers to create these, one for each […]

  16. […] Instantly Translate Your Blog […]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 19,729 other followers

