Skip navigation

Celebrity Blog for Hope

I’ve started looking around at all the ways people are blogging. Today I found out that celebrities are being asked to Blog for Hope with Yahoo.

Blog for Hope is a 30-day blogging event provided by Yahoo and the American Cancer Society. The list of participating bloggers includes: Senator Hillary Clinton; Tom Green, Actor/Comedian; Sam Donaldson, News Anchor; Jill Eikenberry, Actress; Peggy Fleming, Figure Skater; Rep. Deborah Pryce; Deepak Chopra, Doctor; Rep. Sue Myrick; Fran Drescher, Actress; and Rep. Chris Cannon. People visiting the blog can read the blog posts and post comments.

I have to admit it, looking through the blogs, it brought a tear to my eye. First, because I’ve lost so many friends and family to cancer, and yet when I stop and pay attention, so many of my friends and family are alive today because they DID something about it. They paid attention to their bodies, got tested, and did what it took to beat the thing. That needs to be celebrated.

Second, because they are talking about it. Jill Eikenberry says, “I got my breast cancer diagnosis in 1986. Almost 20 years ago. No one was talking about it then.” My mother had successful cancer surgery when I was 15 and we didn’t talk about it. No one talked about it then. Even when Mrs. Kelley, my self-adopted grandmother and a woman I adored and respected, was swollen and dying from liver cancer, we didn’t talk about it. She just “wasn’t herself lately”. Here was a woman I’d know all of my life, whom I could talk to about anything, but I couldn’t talk about this. I knew what was going on and I wanted to talk about it. But we talked of other things, as if life was normal. It just wasn’t the thing to do.

Now, because people are talking about cancer, people are doing things about cancer. They are taking preventative measures, helping develop treatments, and best of all, talking a LOT about cancer. About how there is life with cancer, there is life after cancer, and that cancer can be beaten. And if it can’t be beaten, then there is pride in a life well-lived and there is no stigma to dying with cancer. We now know it isn’t contagious and people don’t have to be locked away in hospitals. There is hope, everywhere.

By talking about cancer, we’ve shown a giant light into the darkness that haunts the word “cancer”. Thank you to everyone for talking about cancer.

2 Comments

  1. Posted July 24, 2006 at 8:12 am | Permalink

    After reading this article i thought of giving a comment about cancer and to share it with other readers. Cancer is a class of diseases or disorders characterized by uncontrolled division of cells and the ability of these cells to invade other tissues, either by direct growth into adjacent tissue through invasion or by implantation into distant sites by metastasis. Cancer occurs either by the implantation into isolated sites by metastasis or by the direct growth into contiguous tissue through invasion.

  2. Posted March 31, 2008 at 5:45 am | Permalink

    I lost my mother to cancer. I lost my father-in-law to cancer. I have lost friends to cancer. I wear a Livestrong bracelet (www.laf.org) every day and have for over four years. I had one person tell me that it was “unprofessional” to wear the bracelet into business presentations. I told him, “I’m sorry you feel that way. I’m wearing it.”

    My second book is a fictional novel that doubles as a book about leadership and hope and is about a terminaly ill cancer patient (pancreatic cancer). The best review I have gotten on the book was, ironically, from a dying cancer patient who said it was “the most powerful 105 pages he had ever read.” If I never get another favorable review, i really don’t care. that one made the effort to write it worthwhile . You can check the book (Dad’s Last Letter) out at http://www.dadslastletter.com.

    Life is short. Each of us has a leadership role to play in this life…Livestrong.

    Bud Boughton
    Indianapolis


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. [...] Celebrity Blog for Hope [...]

Post a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 20,270 other followers

